2014 Statewide Suicide Prevention Conference
2014 Statewide Suicide Prevention Conference

To view the archieved webcasts please click the links below:




The Illinois Department of Public Health is hosting a one-day statewide suicide prevention conference on April 25, 2014 in Springfield, Illinois.  The conference theme, Preventing Suicide Among Youth and Young Adults: Everyone has a Role, acknowledges that preventing suicide involves collaborative efforts by the entire community, with a special focus on youth and young adults within 10-24 years of age.



  • Dr. LaMar Hasbrouck, Director, Illinois Department of Public Health
  • Dr. John Draper, Director, National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
  • Dr. Peter Gutierrez, U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs



The purpose of the conference is to increase provider knowledge and build competency, as well as revitalize and increase the momentum of suicide prevention efforts in Illinois, with a particular focus on new developments within the field of youth suicide prevention.  While the conference will take a youth and young adult-centric approach in its purpose, it will not exclude any population across the lifespan when considering the importance of suicide prevention. 

One of many strategies that are being implemented by the Illinois Youth Suicide Prevention Project (IYSPP), hosting a one-day conference promoting and informing professionals on the subject of youth suicide prevention will be the key endeavor to bring stakeholders together from across the field.  By bringing stakeholders together, the conference complements the goals and objectives of the IYSPP and the larger state suicide prevention strategic plan.  The Departmentappreciates the overwhelming support and guidance provided by the stakeholders to provide guidance in the implementation of numerous statewide efforts.  ISYPP is made possible by funding from the Garrett Lee Smith State and Tribal Suicide Prevention Grant awarded to the Illinois Department of Public Health through SAMHSA.  The purpose of the Garrett Lee Smith grant is to implement statewide youth suicide prevention and early intervention strategies, of which will be the guiding force of the purpose of this conference.


Conference Goals

Participants will:

1. Gain knowledge, skills and competencies regarding suicide prevention, intervention, and postvention/aftercare.  Participants will increase their knowledge of the public health approach to suicide prevention.

2. Increase their ability to identify resources locally and nationally, with a focus on avenues of support for youth and young adults.  Identify the fact that youth and young adult suicide does not see geographic and cultural barriers, and everyone can play a part in prevention in various ways.

 3. Understand the importance of early detection of emotional and mental disorders, particularly within youth and young adults 10-24 years of age, however, also understand that it is never too early to implement strategies that prevent troubling behaviors before they begin.

 4. Identify their role in implementing the National and Illinois Strategic Plans on Suicide Prevention.


Participants may include professionals interested in learning more about various youth and young adult suicide prevention strategies and how they apply across occupational lines.  This includes anyone who by the nature of their job, works with people who are at risk of suicide and their families, such as but not limited to clinicians, educators, first responders, health educators, physicians, nurses, social workers, substance abuse counselors, mental health clinicians, to name a few. 


CEUs will be provided for a multiple professions. The following credits have been approved:


  • School personnel – 6 hours of Continuing Professional Development Units (CPDU.)

  • Law enforcement - 6 credit hours towards the training requirement mandates of Chiefs/Deputy Chiefs (P.A. 94-354) and Sheriffs (P.A. 88-586,) per approval by Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board staff.

  • Qualified Intellectual Disabilities Professionals (QIDPs) - may apply 6 continuing education hours earned from this conference toward their twelve hour annual continuing education requirement, per approval by the Illinois Department of Human Services, Division of Developmental Disabilities (IDHS/DDD.)

  • Licensed attendees - The IDHS/DDD, as licensed by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulations to sponsor continuing education units (CEUs) for training events, approved 6 continuing education hours for the following licensed attendees:

      • Licensed Nursing Home Administrators

      • Licensed Clinical Professional Counselors

      • Licensed Professional Counselors

      • Licensed Social Workers

      • Licensed Clinical Social Workers

      •  Licensed Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants

      •  Licensed Physical Therapist and Physical Therapy Assistants.

      •  Advanced Practice Nurses, Registered Nurses and Licensed Practical Nurses

      •  Licensed Psychologists 

  • EMS Personnel - 8 hours continuing education credits have been awarded by the Illinois Department of Public Health for First Responder, EMT-Basic, EMT-Intermediate, EMT-Paramedic, Pre-hospital RN/ECRN and EMS Instructors (site code 031607E0414.)

In addition, the conference planning committee has applied for the following credits:  CHES, Universal, CRSS, CADC, and Mobile Training Unit (MTU).  If you have questions about the status of a particular credit, please contact Jennifer Martin at Jennifer.L.Martin@illinois.gov




Special thanks go to the conference co-sponsors for making this conference a reality – Illinois Public Health Association, University of Illinois Springfield Counseling Services and Illinois Suicide Prevention Alliance.  Partial funding for this conference was made possible from the Garrett Lee Smith State and Tribal Suicide Prevention Grant awarded to IDPH through the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). 


Begins: 4/25/2014 8:00:00 AM CT
Ends: 4/25/2014 5:00:00 PM CT
Location Information:
University of Illinois Springfield
2200 Ernest Hemingway Drive
Springfield IL 62703
Contact Information:
Angie Wanger