Rural Health Webinar - motor vehicle deaths/seatbelt use, suicide and drug overdose

Injury Prevention and Control in Rural America - Insights from the CDC MMWR Rural Health Series

Date: Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Time: 10:30am Pacific, 11:30am Mountain, 12:30pm Central, 1:30pm Eastern Duration: approximately 90 minutes

A National Rural Health Day Event

Unintentional injury is one of the five leading causes of death in the U.S. In fact, unintentional injury is 50% higher in rural areas compared to urban areas and rural residents are more likely to die from a number of these injuries than are their urban counterparts. CDC recently highlighted the rural disparities for three injury-related causes of death in their Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report Rural Health Series: motor vehicle deaths and seat belt use, suicide, and drug overdose. The good news is that evidence-based public health strategies, practices, and policies have the power to prevent most events that result in injury or death.

This webinar will feature the CDC researchers who will discuss their findings, examine the factors contributing to these disparities, and point you to available tools and resources to address the disparities in your communities.

https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org/webinars/injury-prevention-and-control

 

 

Comments

comments powered by Disqus